Conesus lake

Hi all. I'm taking a trip to Conesus today, but I've never fished it before. Does anyone have any advice on where to go or what tactics to use for either bass or pike? I've read some published articles about spots, but I put more stock into info from other anglers who actually fish there. Also, does anyone know where a good bait shop is on the lake? Thanks!!

Hey Ray,

I'm no expert, but I have caught pike in the north end and along the east edge of the lake from mcpherson point north. Stick to the weed edges, casting various baits. I have caught pike on Conesus with everything from spinner baits to live minnows. I don't think there is a bait shop on the lake, one of the problems I've had in the past, but there is a small shop near by, although I don't know when they open or if their even still in business.

I hear the south end can produce as well, same tactics, troll, cast or drift, mainly along weed edges with stick baits, spinners or large minnow and float.

Hope it helps, I'm sure this is nothing spectacular in terms of advice, but hopefully it gives you a couple ideas. I'll be there Saturday morning and would like to hear how you make out, so please post a report if you've got time, and above all good luck!

Thanks for the info guys! I'm hearing that the water is still a bit chilly. One person told me the bass aren't even spawning yet, but I find that a little hard to believe. I'll give it a crack and let you know.

My Friday fishing report. We got in the water at about 5 pm and fished until dark. Our goal was to not get skunked. We didn't get skunked, but didn't do very good either. We boated a 3 lb. largemouth trolling a crankbait in about 15' of water near a weed edge between the 2 points on the East side just north of the launch. On the funny side, we also landed a SUNFISH on a crankbait half his size. Then at about dusk we lost a 2 lb largemouth at the boat.