Using Dipsey's off your downriggers

Can you use Dipsey's off of a downrigger? I currently have manual downrigger's therefore cranking them up and down all day from 80 to 100 feet becomes a pain in the butt and would not want to do that all day at 150 to 200 feet. Therefore was thinking about running a dipsey down the additional distance. If I am using a wire dipsey how would the deployment go and how would you connected to the release at the downrigger balls? Any thoughts or suggestions besides buying electric downrigger's. LOL.

Sent from my iPhone using Lake Ontario United mobile app

Fish, I'm not an expert on it but remember trying it back in the day. Called them down and outs. Somewhat a stealth move. Ran the small size dipseys off the side down riggers with the down rigger pole not a dipsey pole. So monofilament was the line that was connected to them. If your looking at doing it though just to get to deeper depths I would get the electrics lol.

Sent from my iPad using Lake Ontario United

I say try it and if it works please post it to this site.  I spent 15 or so years with plexiglass hand crank riggers made by my father, 6 of those years on Ontario.  Have cannon mag 10s now..... IMOP rigging for dipsy (snubber, swivels etc) is similar in effort/time than cranking a rigger but to be clear I have never tried combining them.  Attaching a dipsy diver to a downrigger release, even a chamberlain seems to me to be problematic.  I have however heard of people using leadcore, copper etc with dipsy.  There is something to be said for hand cranked riggers as they dont come up or down too fast and you never have to depend on a sensor and or clutch setting.  

My opinion is use the riggers as part of a spread (lots of folks using the word program) in concert with dipsy divers and or weighted lines etc.  Best of luck