conesus weeds dying back already???

we were out on conesus sunday and it appeared that the weeds were looking a little suspect. I'm not too good at reading those things, but the going was tough there that morning for us (we only picked up a few bass) and the other folks we saw out there in the shallows. Just wondering if the die back is happening already and if that could have contributed...

anyone else out there recently have a take on the weed situation?

Maybe not in numbers, but the big fish are there and being caught. I know of 5 different 6+ lb. largies weighed in during club or open tourneys this year. Plenty of 4's and 5's as well. Yes the weeds have set up different, but the fish are still there just maybe moved a bit....

Maybe not in numbers, but the big fish are there and being caught. I know of 5 different 6+ lb. largies weighed in during club or open tourneys this year. Plenty of 4's and 5's as well. Yes the weeds have set up different, but the fish are still there just maybe moved a bit....

I can certainly say the bigguns are in there. we didn't catch many shallow, but my partner and I each picked up a whopper-easily in that 5-6 lb range (my best of the year for sure-and they're back in there for someone else) we just didn't get many others like we expected and wasn't sure if the bite was just off or the fish weren't there in numbers.

I was just trying to understand the nuance between not attracting fish (poor weed fills) and actually repelling fish as the weeds decay (if they in fact are already). in either case the result is the same- not a 'bite issue' its a location thing. I'll have to change strategy and go even deeper next time

thanks

I've never boated on Conesus, but will be there next Saturday for a work picnic at the NE side. Anyone have a good map they can forward? Any suggestions as to where to start out? We'll fish the morning and dusk I believe.

Sindale,