Electrical issue.

Two battery set up through a perco switch. On board charger hooked directly to batteries, not through perco. When installing batteries, perco off and charger not plugged in, I get a momentary spark on the ground wire to battery. Will not do it again unless you leave ground wire off for a short time. Then it will do it again. Am I just seeing a diode in my charger loading or do I have a problem?

Sent from my SM-G955U using Lake Ontario United mobile app

im no electrician but you should never see sparks unless you are bleeding energy somewhere. if your perco is off you should not be drawing any energy. I would run a meter between my ground wire and my ground and try and see what voltage im pulling or how many MA im drawing..

That could be the onboard charger? Most of them use a little energy to monitor your battery condition. I would unhook it and see if you still gat a spark. With your perch off you shouldn’t get a spark.

Sent from my iPhone using Lake Ontario United

That could be the onboard charger? Most of them use a little energy to monitor your battery condition. I would unhook it and see if you still gat a spark. With your perch off you shouldn’t get a spark.

Sent from my iPhone using Lake Ontario United
The charger does not go through the perco it is hooked direct to batteries.

Electrical issues on a boat are trick.  I second disconnecting the charger and seeing if it still happens.  Also get a multi-meter and check for continuity through the Perko switch - could be there's something off with the switch.
I will try both those. Good thought on the perco switch