Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
sstout

Laker with worms around stomach?

Total newbie here. I got a nice lake trout this morning. I went to gut the fish and when I slit the belly open it looked like the stomach or intestines was surrounded my some sort of worms? I don't know how to describe it. The fish otherwise looked healthy and faught like crazy. Now that it's gutted it looks nice and clean. Have others ran into this with fish they've cleaned, and is it safe to eat? Thanls

20180508_071715.jpg

20180508_065900.jpg

Did these worms squirm a lot?  Did you isolate them from the Stomach and intestines? If no, it sounds like it may have been the Pyloric Cecae, which are worm like projections of the intestines that throw folks off when they are first cleaning fish. 

• Like 1

After doing a little reading on Google, I do think it was the pyloric cecae. They did not move at all and were isolated to one organ. Thanks for the responses. 

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

• Similar Topics

• 2006 21.6 Sea Fox 216 Walk Around Cuddy Cabin

2006 Sea Fox 216 Walk Around Cuddy Cabin with 06 Suzuki 150 4 stroke efi.  Full custom back cover,Furono Radar,Furono color fish finder,Stero system with amp., Fish Hawk thermal troll temp and speed.4-mag 20 digit troll down riggers,2 planner boards,reels are mounted on hard top.comes with Venture double axle trailer .Boat and Motor is in show room cond.......Any questions call Jeff 845-8534506 boat is stored in doors in Point Brease N.Y. 14477.................$27000.00