CHIRP Frequency Selection

mrk61

I’ve narrowed down my choice of a Chartplotter/sonar to the GARMIN GPSMap 942xs to be used solely for trolling for salmon on Lake Ontario. Looking for advice as to the best Chirp frequency range (Low, Medium, High) for this purpose.

Thanks for any help!

Mike

I was a sonar tech on submarines for 9 years... the best frq depends on what you want to do. Low frq will cover a greater area due to the cone angle of the transmission while a higher frq covers a much smaller area. However, a higher frq will pick up more in that concentrated area than low frq. Think of a low powered flood light with bad eye sight as low frq and a high powered, alpha male, mag light with eagle vision in a concentrated setting as high frq.

Nice unit but I would make sure you can actually choose the CHIRP frequencies. I have the A68 by raymarine love it but can not change the CHIRP freq. unless I buy a standalone CHIRP Module. The module alone is the price of your unit so I doubt the unit you are looking at will allow you to change the freq. I don't know for certain so take it with a grain of salt. I would look through the entire owners manual even call Garmin to verify. My unit has CHIRP downvision built into it but I am not able to tweak it other than the return strength and similar settings. If I were to buy the module I could adjust the frequencies and all sorts of other things.

A consideration if you are able to adjust is if you are running other items that use transducers like the Fiahawk Xseries. The 70 khz frequency of the Fishawk may reside in that low or medium range setting and conflict.

• Like 1

Lots of discussion here.

https://www.thehulltruth.com/marine-electronics-forum/834854-garmin-942-xs.html

If you have questions, contact semperfifishing........ I recently purchased an echomap chirp plus 93sv and Gil recommended a GT52HW for my application. I purchased the unit and ducer through him with good results. 

Edited by Traveling Circus