Lake Trout Fishing

First of all, I am new to boat fishing and I am thankful for the members of this site for helping me get out catching Browns this year with my boys. Without the help I would have been overwhelmed and frustrated. We want to catch Lake Trout for the first time and typically start at Mexico Point and looking for set ups to get started. Any help would be appreciated.

Lake trout are primarily bottom oriented for much of the season; especially Spring and Fall and they may also be found in shallower water then. probably the best way to catch them trolling is using a cowbell setup with a Gambler Rig behind it. There are several ways tto run them depending on the tackle you have. A lot of folks run them from downriggers near the bottom and run close to the weight. I mainly run mine on dedicated wire rods using a three way swivel and a dropper weight and run two rods at a time continually letting out wire as I go deeper to maintain closeness to the bottom. It helps to let them down in shallower water and gradually go deeper letting them down close to the bottom as you go along. When using riggers you have to be VERY careful not to get hung up on the bottom. Troll slowly about 1.3-1.8 mph

https://gamblerrigs.com/products/cowbells

https://gamblerrigs.com/products/gambler-rig

Edited by Sk8man