newb looking for alil bit of help

Hey all,

Im new to Salmon fishing from shore (and salmon fishing in general)...completely new...so im looking for quite abit of direction as to how to approach these salmon runs

ill just kind of point form my questions here

a) gear - any specific lures? lb test? etc (ive heard casting spoons like cleos etc)

b) any specific spots that typically give up afew fish?

c) ive heard under the burlington skyway/bronte harbour....if i were to go to one of these spots...should we be casting in the lake, or into the channel?

d) and finally...whats the best time of day/night to go?

I thank you all for your time, and any help what so ever would be greatly appreciated

Shane

• 3 weeks later...

This is all for shore fishing which I have done for 20+years and it works well:

A= If casting with lure I like to use a 9'-10' medium heavy rod with a reel in the 3000 series something that holds 180+ yards of 8lb line. I like using there for 8lb line if casting or sitting with a row bag and egg sinker. The one thing is you what a good quality reel with a good drag system as they will run at least be looking to spend $80.00 on a reel.

-lures very from colour of water and what the fish are doing if they are rolling allot or are they staying deep.

-I use rattle raps, floating rapalas, cleo's, crocodiles, and cast masters. Like I said the Cleo's are glow in the dark for night fishing and the rattle raps as well in dark silty water, Crocodiles and Cast masters I like when the fish are deep and far as you can sling them further than anything. The floating rapala are great when the fish are in and rolling on bait.