Using a Mercury Optimax in the winter

Frisco

Any of you guys using a Optimax in the winter? I have a 3 year old 175 that steams up in the winter. Mercury has changed the thermostats, heat sensors, & gaskets without success. The problem seems to be the heads overheating until the thermostats open.

• 3 months later...

I have run mine well into december and in temperatures as low as 10 degrees but on the ocean. The colder the air the better she runs. I do have to open the pisser hose often and I always let the engine block warm for at least 5 minutes sometimes 10 minutes before throttling up. Cold power heads and quick start up's and running hard right out of the gate can't be good. I am not a mechanic but it can't be good.

Chris, you're batting two for two on these important yet overlooked finer points related to the opti. You are correct that the motor needs to be completely warmed before powering up...the cylinder and piston need to both have time to expand equally. This is probably THE most important thing to know about opti operation.

The tolerances are so tight on the opti in particular (needed to help achieve the emissions rating) that you can cold seize it quite easily if they are not equally heated/expanded. that would most likely result in catastrophic failure: aka rod through the block wall. :o

The same goes for hot seize...gunning a warm motor floods it with ice cold water, quickly cooling the block.

Best bet in the winter is ALWAYS let it warm completely first, then gradually give it gas. That way they expand equally, then contract equally. After a 5 minute warm up, I run it underway at around 2k for a minute to let it cool slowly, and once the temps have come down, slowly throttle up. To be safe, You should always let it warm first, even summer, with a slow start anytime the motor is at the high idle temps that optis have..