Seneca North End 5/9 report

Fished the East side from about 6:30am to 10:30 am. Went 15/22 all lakers. Almost all came on wire with the exception of 2. Biggest was around 9lbs., rest in the 3-4lb range. about 5 boats running the same stretch, did not see much else caught. Ranged from 40-50fow. Water temp of 53 bringin them in!!! Also grabbed about a 2lb perch and 1 pike, great day on the water!

Sounds like a great day!

I am new to fishing as of last fall and have a boat w/2 downriggers. Catching a few lakers last fall was fairly easy - they all grouped on the thermocline and we would just drop the weights to that depth and troll with spoons. We would usually catch them at least once/hour. Also, I don't have a trolling motor, just my inboard/outdrive - so my speed isn't super controllable at low speeds for trolling, but it seemed to work.

...Then we went out yesterday, 5/9 from ~9am-12pm. Not a single bite. We tried spoons on the downriggers dropped to 45-90 feet in 100-135 FOW. We also tried trolling a spoon on the top, rapala's in ~5 feet & deep diving rapala's (~15-20feet), again in 20-135 FOW. Again, not a single bite. Fish finder was marking them everywhere from 20-110 ft.

I'm looking for some detailed help! Where are the fish? How do I catch 'em? Are there any LL Salmon or Browns in northern Seneca?

Any advice would be great! Thanks in advance!

hey scruffytoad, where were you on Seneca? I may have seen you out there, I had the white 22' Trophy "Blue Ghost" running the east shore near the pump house. What were you running for speed? This time of year for lakers you want to be 1.2-1.6 mph. Fall you can get away with 1.8-2.4 mph. Green Spin Doctors, green flies have been good this year. NK 28 frog also has its days. We use a trolling plate with an i/o but maybe even a bucket over the side or drift bag may work enough. Sounds like you were running the right depths,wrong speed. hope I can be of help and good luck! Let me know