New vs Old Lowrance fish finder?

Hey anglers,

Newbie here with 500 bucks to drop on a fish finder. Eyeing Lowrance - good stuff, right? Wondering if I should snag an old Lowrance model or shell out for a new one.

Mostly hitting lakes and rivers, chasing bass and trout. Need something solid but not crazy techy. Old Lowrance still good for the job? Or is the new tech worth the extra cash?

Would love some tips on key features to look out for and if anyone's got a favorite model, shout out!

Hi ,I thought you would get some response after so many with more experience than me read your post but I was in the same shoes as you I had Lowerace x70a i loved simple to construct digital intrument box to read surface spd /temp

easy to zoom /set alarms ext.