Running Spoons, Need help

This is my 2nd year fishing lake ontario and I have a question/concern about how I run spoons.

I can not get my Spoons to fire off at all, 99.9 % of the fish I have caught came off F/F Combo's, I dont understand why. I must be doing something wrong. Like this past Sunday 7/17, I had a great day landed 15 or so fish, all off F/F combo not a one on a spoon. I gave up and just ran all F/F combo's at the end of the day.

I run them at the ball, and I run them on stackers. I've tried all types and colors that are suggested here on the boards and at the local fishing tackle shops I visit up on the lake.

I run them usually 20 to 50 feet back depending deepths and positon on the rigger.

Can anybody give me some suggestions, tips, or something I'm doing wrong?

Thanks.

I'm just a newbie but you don't mention what speed you like to run at. I've read flashers tend to be speed-tolerant and that some brands of spoons prefer different speed ranges. What's yours?

try shortening up your leads. I seldom ever run a spoon back more than 15 -20 feet, quite often closer regardless of how deep they are running. we had fish hitting spoons on 15 foot leads on 35 and 45 foot riggers this past weekend, both on the main line and on free sliders. If I see fishing streaking into my spread on the graph but not bite, I typically take that to mean the fish are aggressive and coming right into the commotion from the cannonballs so I'll tighten up my leads to not more than 10' off the ball.

As Mortigan mentioned, some spoons are more speed tolerant than others, make sure the spoons you are running are running properly at the speeds you are tolling.

Tim

Some good brands of spoons are stinger, dream weaver, northern king, warrior spoons and r&r spoons. I'm a big fan of stinger spoons. The NBK mag was really hot saterday for me.