Newbie Needing Advice!

Live hour and a half from watertown and going to try my hand at lake Ontario. I usually fish the st Lawrence river near massena Ny. To help out I'm going to buy 2 cannon downriggers. They are 129.99 and come with 100 steel wire and an 8 pound ball. Will I need anything else? In the summer will the 100 ft of wire be enough? Never used downriggers before so I'm a total Noob. Is watertown/sacketsi Barbour a good starting spot? If not withered should I launch at? Any tips or advise greatly appreciated on location or equipment. Id like to do browns and salmon this year. Thanks!

Save your money and get unitrolls at a min. You need at least 12lb weights for deep kings. I would get 2 wire diver setups before id drop money on riggers. Wire divers take the most kings everytime out for me. Take a charter to make sure its what you really want to do.

[ Post made via Android ] Android.png

Save your money and get unitrolls at a min. You need at least 12lb weights for deep kings. I would get 2 wire diver setups before id drop money on riggers. Wire divers take the most kings everytime out for me. Take a charter to make sure its what you really want to do.

How deep do they go by summer? I wasn't wanting to spend a lot so I was going with the basic at first. I have no experience with divers either. Can you link me to that product? Thanks for all info! I'm trying to learn.

Just google walker deeper diver or luhr Jensen Dipsey diver. I second running dipseys over riggers. Just make sure you spool your reels with stainless trolling wire line. You can buy them preloaded from a-tom-mic. He sells dipseys too.

[ Post made via iPhone ] iPhone.png