Replacing Sylvan Offshore Transom

Moonshine

Hi folks,

I've recently bought a 1986 22ft Sylvan Offshore and I soon found out that I had a major leak. After close inspection, I found that the transom is rotten around the outdrive. While it does look like something that I can handle replacing myself, I have no experience with I/O's. It has a 3.0 liter Mercruiser with a Alpha One outdrive. My question is..... Can i remove the whole outdrive in one piece. Because the Bellows and shift cable is new, I see no reason to pull the lower and upper seperately.

Anyone's thoughts on this would be much appreciated.

thanks

Dear Moon Shine,

This type of repair will test any/all of your boat wrench...fabrication skills. It requires engine removal and outdrive major removal..(inner & outer transom removal) etc.

..............Of course you can cut the entire transom around the drive and remove the entire drive line..ala Florida salvage style.....but you lose the mounting hole locations and the front motor mounts locations....NG. THEN you have to cut a new transom hole etc. with factory fixture or a lot of "Kentucky windage"!!!!

The best way is to remove all the mechanicals and take it to a boat repair shop that specializes in transom repair. None of this is easy, fast or cheap. Correct transom repair will exceed the value of the boat. This is a major $$$$ repair that will test your wallet and patience. If you are retired and have a lot of free time....give it a go! But I would rather go fishing then replace a transom! ....Respectfully submitted.....X-Jet Boat Bill