copper or wire ???

Ok i'm a rookie at the dipsy thing and was hoping you guys could steer me in the right direction. I've been reading alot on here trying to figure out what is best for a rookie that has never run divers before. Whats better for a beginner wire or copper? Can I use one of my 8.5' rods or get something longer . Gander has a 10.5' Diawa heartland for 30 bucks are they any good? they also have wire and copper including a copper set up that has 30' leader 300' copper and 600' of powerpro backing all ready to go. I have a diawa 47lc I will use for my reel. also why the leader with copper why not just snap the copper to the dipsy and run your leader from there. Yes I have lots of rookie ? but would just like to have a better shot at more fish.

Thanks for all the posts they really help out the little guys

Tight lines

Mike

Mike,

You will not get that cooper setup on a 47lc. Spool that with 1000' of the seven strand, buy the heartland and you have a wire dipsey setup. Start with that first, get that down, then buy a copper setup.

Rich

Mike, I believe you fish out of Olcott usually, right? I have my boat slipped there. You're more than welcome to come out with us and see all the various rigs and what they do/how they work. I'm a hardcore tackle addict and have just about everything imaginable on the boat. :$ :roll:

The LOTSA Meeting is this evening, are you planning on coming?

Tim

Wire, wire, wire with dypsys and a 10 1/2 poles. With wire the downside is the weight of the dipsy but i think wire is more versitile. You can run wire 120 back and be about 50 down, 180 back and be 80 down or 200 back and be 90 down. You need 550 feet of copper to get down 100' but only 220 feet of wire for 100 down.

Just my opinion.

Shade/Mike,