Line or wire?

zimm298

So I'm just getting started in setting up for fishing the fingerlakes and Lake O. I have several reels and rods that I want to set up, my thing is I have no idea where to start. The reels are Okuma 30's I believe, and they came with 8 foot downrigger rods. I'll take all the advice I can get. I'd like to be able to fish a few times this winter on Seneca to work on figuring out how to do the downriggers, and be ready to fish the trout in the spring. I also read a lot about you guys using planer boards, so treat me as the newbie to this that I am. I grew up fishing the Chesapeake Bay, and now live up here and am going crazy trying to figure it out on my own. I'm also going to have to put a kicker on my boat since my Evinrude is grumpy and hates to run at idle to troll, so some starting trolling speed ideas would be great. OK! I give. HELP!! Thanks!!