Universal Test line

I am a total beginner on a limited budget ( aka "a wife") so I was looking to make my setup be as diverse as possible. I have started out with the plan to target fish in the shallows. I have two line counter reels (Daiwa Accudepth 47l) on Cabela Depthmaster 8 1/2 ft. downrigger rods and have been using them to fish shallow(with no luck) using inline planer boards. I put 10lb mono on them with flourocarbon leaders to start. Until I save up the scratch to get a downrigger I was thinking about getting some 107 size Deeper Divers and trying to fish a little bit deeper water.

My question is, is there a good line to rig my reels with that will let me move from shallow fishing to deeper (using a diver), without the need to change line. Or is that asking too much and I need to stick with one or the other. Any advice is appreciated, thanks in advance.

One method might be drop weight rigged with big jon jettison release's that will save the ball and you can reel back in. another might be the smaller disk divers, with that light of line and those rods the larger diver wouldn't work for you. there are a variety of divers best thing is to visit a tackle shop and look around or get some advice from them, sure some of the guys here have some better ideas also then mine lol.

Universal line for Lake Ontario - 30lb. main line with a 15lb. or 20lb. floro leader. Back in the day, you could use lighter line. Today we have to deal with sea flees and light line year round is a thing of the past.

Thanks for the replies.

Just to make sure I was clear by the way I worded the question. Not so worried about using the same line year long I don't mind changing it out over the season. I just want one that I can use in the span of one day, going from shallow to deep (over vice-versa) looking for fish.

I guess also I have a new question. Will the 8.5 ft Depthmaster rod(12-25lb line) be ok for a 107mm Walker Deeper Diver?