Third Trip to Ontario

I've got to say, I'm glad I added Ontario to my regular stops. I made my third trip to Olcott on July 2nd and 3rd and can say I'm an expert at hooking fish! :D:D The problem is getting them in the boat. I'm seriously going 1 for 10 or less, but am starting to figure out the right drag settings and boat speed issues. Also not horsing them is helping. A third body in the boat would definitely help, because reeling and netting while my wife drives has been a challenge. Got several huge Steelhead this trip and a few small kings that went back to grow. Lost some fish that felt huge, but never got to see them.

Anyway, after three trips I'm starting to notice something and wanted to bounce it off of you guys. When I hook up, I immediately mark a waypoint and have noticed that my hits are really clustered in a few areas outside of Olcott. Is it typical that a single area holds fish month after month while others don't? I realize that I pick up one or two outside of these areas, but with nowhere near the consistency. Maybe I just need to expand my trolls and find other hotspots, but I'm attracted to the "sure thing" which may not be good. Your thoughts??????

Yes. Salmon use baitfish, temperature and currents as their "structure." When you run into them, try to observe what else is going on in that area.

Tom B.

(LongLine)

Thanks LongLine I realize I have a lot of learnin' to do and am having a blast. Since your talking up, I've got another question. I see a lot of folks run wire with dipsys. Since I can get down to 100+ feet with a magnum dipsy, is there another reason to run wire? Are these folks shooting for depths that can't be reached by a dipsy alone or is there something else going on? Since I've only got an 18' boat I've been using two riggers and two dipsy rods and was wondering if I need to add a wire rod in place of a dipsy.