What electronics do you consider "necessary" for Ontario trolling?

Sicarii

I am looking to buy a boat during the off season for use next year salmon/trout fishing in Ontario.  I am currently looking at Pacific Northwest style plate aluminum boats, maybe a Hewescraft, Wooldridge, North River, or Pro-Steelheader.  I really like this style and I am seriously considering going to the Portland Boat show and bringing something back. 

I am wanting something in the 18-22 foot range with offshore bracket. 

I do a lot of electronics work for my job so I think I would end up installing the electronics myself.  I am wondering what you guys consider necessary for a boat this size used for trolling on Ontario.

I am thinking so far: 

Fixed-Mount VHF w/ Antenna

Fishfinder/GPS Combo - midrange, thinking Lowrance HDS 5 or Raymarine Dragonfly?

Stereo install (I do audio for a living, so I've got this one figured out!)

Am I overlooking anything?  Do I necessarily need temperature probe/downrigger speed capabilities right away or can I add them later if I need them?  Is there any real reason to shell out for a higher end GPS/Fishfinder?  Is there a difference between GPS and "Chartplotting"? 

I'm not sure I need or will be able to afford any kind of autopilot system...

Any suggestions are welcome.

I think a probe system is as important than a fish finder

I don't know too much about the probes, is this an add-on for a current fish finder or are they only stand-alone units?

Go big on the electronics, 8 or 10 inch if you will be only running 1 unit, running a 5 inch unit in split screen mode is like looking at a screen for each sonar/GPS something smaller than the modern day smartphone it's riduculously small when ran like that. I would get two 7's if you don't want to spend the big bucks on HDS-8 or HDStouch 9/12. Two elite 7's would suite you well or HDS 7's

I have two 8's and it's perfect. 

You will also need a probe.