Older Cannon Mag 10

I recently bought a couple of the older style Mag 10's from a member on this site. I had them gone over by A&P Tackle and had him repair or replace whatever he thought needed to be done so that they would be in good working order. So...my question is, I have 12 pound shark weights that I bought last year and was wondering if I can still use them with the "new" downriggers. I was told not to use more than a 10 pound weight!

I was afraid of that. I didn't realize they had a 10 pound limit when I bought them. I thought I was upgrading from the manuals that I have been using for the last several years. Live and learn I guess.

:)  Not the end of the world :lol: . I have been using 10 lb weights on mine for years. It helps to have the right shaped weights. bikinibottom on here makes some great ones and they seem to minimize the blow back compared with the ball or fish shaped ones I used in the past.

I'll pass along my experience of running 12lb weights on early Mag 10A's. Never tripped a breaker, but started getting some problems coming up like rigger was skipping. Eventually rigger failed completely and free wheeled in both directions. Took rigger apart and electric motor ran fine in both directions. What had failed were three white plastic pucks inside the sealed right angle drive at the end of the motor. Believe they were designed to absorb shock of stopping/starting weight. The heavier weight crushed the plastic and those motors or parts for them aren't supplied by Cannon anymore. When my rigger blew it was probe rigger and I was lucky and caught it. Jammed a screwdriver in to hold rigger-was no fun hand winding the rigger up. After that I've updated to newer models with higher weight rating.

I guess it's a roll of the dice . Personally I don't see where extra 2# is going to make a huge difference on the equipment . If you have 10's then just run them .