Best Smokers

Reel Doc

Make sure you buy a electric or propane. The charcoal ones are a lot tougher to regulate the heat. I just purchased an Smokehouse electric smoker from Gander Mountain this fall for 139.99. Lots of room. Works great.

Greg, I have been using a Cabelas propane smoker for over 7 years, before that I had a charcoal smoker. I like the propane smoker much better, far easier to use and regulate. Mine is stainless, which I think is a good idea too, since you will get a lot of funky stuff all over it, if you do much "mopping' while smoking. I know very little about the electric smokers- do they enable you to use a water bath? If not I would encourage you to consider a gas type, though they are probably more expensive. Speaking of smokers I better post my whole, butterflied, smoked venison haunch recipe!

All I know is that I have a heck of a time trying to hit 160 on my electric in the winter. I either have to get my smokin' done in the fall or pick a warm, windless day in the winter. My next smoker will be propane. Hopefully propane can get me to temp when the snow is deep. I've been using the masterbuilt electric. Before that a Luhr-Jensen chief electric. I love to smoke kings and venison roasts. Smoke those roasts and shave thin on slicer for great sandwich makins. Goose breast smoked and sliced thin is also very good.