safety on the job, working alone

i apolgize for posting a topic like this on a fishing forum, but i know alot of the guys here work in the trades.

i'm an industrial electrician for a fortune 500 company, and the concensus among the guys i work with is that we should always work with a partner. it's a safety concern.

there are places in our facility that, if something happened, we would not be missed until our attendance percentage got flagged by the computer or someone went to check on the smell generated by a rotting corpse. seriously.

osha has some specific rules for narrowly defined circumstances, but generally allows work to be performed alone. i beleive some insurance companies require two people on any given job.

so, i'd like to ask the other factory maintenance guys out there what their facility regs are concerning this subject, and what they feel would be the best practice.

you don't see bumper stickers on boats that say "i'd rather be working".

thanks,

joe

No need to apologize Joe.  Everyone needs to remember to be safe.  If you get hurt on the job, it'll probably take you away from family and fishing for a while.  Definitely not worth it.

Tom B.

(LongLine)

In the highway department of the town of Brighton it is the general rule never to work alone.(Union Shop)

In factory maintenance there should be a lot of lock-out tag-out and confined space ,which requires permits and lots of other good stuff. Unless Osha or Pesha are ignored it is hard to not have constant check back with other team members

Edited by rolmops