Radio Issues.

baytech05

I am kind of new to the VHF Radio scene but thought it would be a good idea to have one on my 17ft Alumacraft for emergency purposes. I typically launch out of Oswego so this past weekend I gave the radio a test run, but the transmission is cutting in and out. I was on channel 68 but I could only hear bits and pieces of what people were saying. The weather stations come in clear as can be but like I said everything else is all cut up.

I have a Uniden Oceanus radio with a small 3’ antenna.

Does anybody have any trouble shooting ideas that I can go through to try and figure out if something is wrong? I live roughly three hours from the lake so the only real time I can test it is when I am up there, which I hope will be this weekend.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

Baytech

A 3' antenna is likely the culprit. It will work for a near-by boat, but will have difficulty the further away that boat is. Most use an 8'er to get height (antenna tip  to water surface). A 3'er on top of a flying bridge works because of the bridge height it is mounted to.

One thing to check is the HI/LOW power range. Use HIGH for best reception/transmission.

My 18' boat can talk with a boat 12 miles away (Niagara Dropoff to Wilson) with an 8' antenna.

I have a VHF with long antenna on my Islander that I bought last year. When trying to get it to work it doesnt. needs some TLC. the connector that goes from the antenna to the back of radio is crappy. I think it is a Uniden