Track systems & dipsey rod holders?

Hi all,

Just wondering the preferred track system for downrigger positioning as well as for rod holders?

Also, was told I should go with ratcheting rod holders for the dipsey rods....true?

Best brands for tracks and rod holders? Berts, Cannon or Traxtech? Likes vs Dis-likes of each?

Any help appreciated! Thanks.

LTtroller

(Bob)

LT;

I have been running Traxtech tracks (since 2011) with Traxtech ratcheting diver rod holders (since 2014), & they work very well.   Frequently run 20 Lb Shark downrigger weights on my out & down riggers with zero problems.  Just be sure you use appropriate backer plates under the tracks, stainless bolts & nylock nuts properly torqued.

Good luck!

John

Edited by Iceman

I just put a set of Berts with the tracs on my boat really like them a lot they work very well and very well made but then I saw a set of Cannon rod holders a friend put on his boat and to be honest I liked them better, one thing that really caught me was the 360 swivel that mine do not do check them both out before you decide.

Ford...:Chevy...you get it. We have all three makes and they all work fine. Ratcheting helps. Your need for a backing plate will depend upon your boat, but can't hurt. I would advice staying away from the style where the rod butt protrudes into the boat. PITA. 

Berts can be rotated in the track. That's why there are grooves. Just line the set screws up with the outside grooves.

Berts as well as Cannon Single axis, can be adjusted so many degrees. But nothing like the Traxtech or Cannon double axis. That are 360. The single axis are little more cumbersome, but should work for 99% of your circumstances. It weather you want to spent the extra $.

Sent from my XT1254 using Lake Ontario United mobile app