Tourney Fishing

All,

I am not new to fishing in general, but i am new to salmon fishing. I have an 18ft aluminum boat with a downrigger setup, etc. I am interested in doing a lot more fishing this coming season and want to get involved in some tournaments. What preparations should i be concerned with now? Is there any advise you would give someone new to the sport?

Thanks,

Matt

Best advice is ask any question no matter how silly you think they might be. Guys on here are more than willing to help. In turn share any info/ reports that you come up with. Read the posts on here, alot of great info. Plan on fishing the tournies to have a good time and meet new people. Don't fish them to get rich. Making enough to pay for your tournamnet fishing is an accomplisment within itself.

Hang out here a lot...read what's posted and strap on your learning cap. There are a lot of very talented fishermen here who are more than willing to share info regarding our great fishery. Not sure if you've played with wire dipsys, copper, leadcore, etc. yet, but those are great tools to master.

As far as the tournaments go, you're gonna want to read and understand all the rules. The Pro-Am website is a good place to start: http://www.lakeontarioproam.net/rules.html. There will be a couple of Scotty tournaments on the Soth shore this year too, so be sure to check out that website: http://www.scottytournamentseries.com/ Might be a good idea to serve as an observer on a boat or two before entering your own team just so you can get a feel for how they operate.

You're in the right place to get all of your questions answered...I don't think there's a better fishing site on the web than LOU!

Matt,