Dipsy Rod?

I'm new to dipsy fishing and I've pretty well decided on the Daiwa Heartland/Accudepth Plus combo spooled with Power Pro.

I think that the 9'6" Heartland dipsy rods may be too much for my boat (16' Crestliner). That and the fact that I fish alone quite often. Besides the length, the only real difference I can see between the Heartland 'downrigger' and 'dipsy' rods is the power. I do not fish Lake O, only a small inland lake trout lake. Do the experts see a problem with using the medium power downrigger rods (8' or 8'6") for dipsy's?

Black Dog, the longer rods will enable you to keep the dipsy lines away from the downrigger lines that you will eventually add + it will actually help you to land fish, because it acts as a longer lever to get the fish closer once the diver is at the rod tip. I think if I was going to fish alone a lot I would go w/ the longer rod unless you are going to use slide divers instead of dipsy divers. Since I am just starting to experiment w/ the SD, I cannot say that's the way to go but I would seriously consider trying one out after you have played w/ the regular dipsy divers. Longer dipsy leaders = more fish but will be tough in the netting department.

Blackdog,

You want a heavier "power" rod for a dipsy in order to take the punishment of the intense drag from the diver. If I'm not mistaken, the shorter Heartland Downrigger rods are medium power (do not confuse power with action of the rod). At any rate, if you want to use a shorter rod, go with the Okuma's. I run 9'6" and 10'6" Heartland Dipsy rods on my 21' Trophy without any problem. Just run shorter leads off the rods if you're worried about netting. Here's my opinion:

1.) The longer rods are typically used so you can clear your outside gunwale mounted rigger boom

2.) Use a heavy power rod for Dipsy's

3.) Run as long of a lead as you can depending on boat length, but keep it consistent with the rod length.

4.) Keep it as economical as possible

Good luck,

Chris