Downrigger/ stacker questions

I'm pretty new to trolling on Lake O and only go deep for salmon a few times a year and never really get much when I go. I have 2 riggers and 4 rods. No wire and no copper. I typically run one off the ball and one off a stacker on each side of the boat. My tackle consists of spoons, a couple flashers and dreamweavers and some flies.

My question is what's my best chance for actually catching something the next couple weekends when I give it a try? I've been reading all the reports and have an idea of where on the lake to start but what's my best set-up to throw at them? I fish out of Sodus and Rochester.

Also, does anyone use J-Plugs anymore?

Thanks for the help.

Your chances are good. The Rochester and Sodus areas have been going good since last weekend. The thermalcline is not totally set up yet so fish are still all over the water column. Don't be afraid to run your rigs spread out in the water column.

I used to run stackers but I got tangled up so much I think it hurt my fishing. I now run 2 riggers with free sliders and do much better. Just take a 5 foot length of mono and put A swivel at each end. I like to use a smaller lighter spoon on the slider after you have set the depth of your down rigger snap the swivel onto the line and toss the spoon in the water. Make sure it does not tangle. It will slide down to the bow of your main line. Do the same for the other side at a little different depth and you are all set.