Seneca 8/17, Finally!

Launched out of Severn trolled south to the salt plant. Finally got a grand slam, 3 lakers around 4 to 6 lbs, 1 HUGE bow over 11 lbs, and two browns, both small ones of a lb or so, and then on the turn we got a nice little salmon. All in 110 to 90 fOW on dipsys with suttons and flashers back 200 to 225 ft, except the bow which hit the lead core pulling a silver and black 5 in rapala. Weeds weren't bad and no fleas at all. Things went dead as soon as we turned around and trolled with the waves. Probably our best day out yet. :yes:

I've been trying flys with flashers and have yet to even get a hit on them, what the heck am I doing wrong? You guys talk about these constantly, I usually use a large dodger off the dipsy about 36 in and then the fly off the dodger around 18 in. Any help with these would be appreciated.

I'm no expert on dipsys...but I start with them out @ 165' and 185' on 2 or 3 setting. If no hits, I'll run the 165' dipsy out to @200'. I'll keep alternately running them out until I start taking hits. If no hits by the time I get them out to around 265', I'll pull them, maybe change colors, and start over up @ 165'. I also occasionally make quick sharp turns rather than just a lazy S pattern. Not to the extent that you risk tangling lines, just a 3 or 4 second hard crank on the wheel then back straight. Quite often it will trigger a strike. Keep at it, it took us a while before we had much success with them, now we catch more fish off dipsys than we do the riggers.

Kyle

As a side note...depending on the length of your dipsy rods, you may want to try and increase the length from dipsy to flasher a bit. I run my flashers 5' to 6' behind the dipsy and fly 18" to 24" behind the flasher. With 10' rods, I can just get them out beyond the riggers (riggers straight out the side 42" booms) when setting up, and get fish to the back of the boat without too much trouble.

Kyle

Sounds like a great day fishing to me. Just need some Pics :)