Few Questions on Copper

I know there have been many threads on copper, but I have never run it and would like some basic info about it.

What is a popular way of running copper? Off mass planer boards, off church/walleye boards? What does the expression "down the chute, or "down the middle" mean?

They come in different feet amounts i know, 200-600 I believe I see the most. If running say a 400' copper, does all 400 have to be let out?

It seems that they are really producing lots of fish, but they are pricey, AND I am not an expert fisherman- I do well with downriggers and dipsys, but do not tear it up. Is it worth spending the money and getting a copper rig for a 2 weekend a month recreational fisherman like myself?

Anything else that could help a beginner to copper would help as well.

Thanks gentleman

Griz,

Down the chute means,down the center of you boat. Yes you run all 400' plus 2 sweeps across your spool if you want to run down 80'. Copper runs down about 20 - 22' deep per hundred feet. If you want to run down 60' then 200 feet of copper out. You can run copper on Planner or Church, I prefer Planner myself. You can run spoons or spin doctors and flies.

Shade