The fish that refuses to die!

Sneaky Duck

So, by this point I'm sure everyone knows that I'm new to this.  My buddy and I caught a perch today and I brought it home to fillet (this is the first time i've ever intended to eat my catch.)  I had a business meeting so after we caught the fish at around 4:00 I put it in a ziplock bag and put it in the fridge.  It's 9:15 and the stupid thing's flopping around on the cutting board!  Is this common?  It's 5+ hours later of him being out of the water and it's still alive! :P

I believe I actually learned about that in school.  Isn't that where they found out about how freezing food preserves it.  Some ice fisherman tossed a frozen fish in a tub to thaw and it started swimming.  This freaked me out cause he never froze.  he was just in a bucket then a ziplock.  Oh well.  It's done!  my first ever fillets!

Just let's you know you can't get any fresher fish, I've had perch lay on the ice all day. I get them home filet them in house and some always start flipping around. They are neat to see do that for sure. Glad you had a good day enjoy the meals nothin better.

Oh it did!  I probably left a bit more meat on the carcass then I should have, so Sammie and I each only got 1 bite... but it was for sure the best fish I've ever eaten!    Hopefully the first of MANY this year!

That's why perch r favorites for food for all kinds of other fish and game as well......not only do they taste good (apparently taste buds send the same messages in other thing's mouths.... :P ) , they also have a strong and nutritious life force to contribute to the higher ups on the food chain.......... :itwasntme:

It is that way with almost any fish and ice fishing. I have had crappie, pickerel, sunfish, and perch come back to life in the kitchen sink.  It is because they are cold blooded and the cold ice, snow whatever slows their body functions way down.