I think I've read all the posts on tackle, equipment and technique, but I have a few questions that weren't previously answered. At least I didn't see the answers... maybe I missed them? I am new to wire...

Anyways, hoping you all could answer a few more questions for me. Thank you very much in advance. I have already learned quite a bit from what I've read here.

Okay, first question is: Has anyone here tried running the Okuma DX series of reels for wire? Mainly thinking the DX30 as it is most comparable to the Accudepth 47 I've seen mentioned a lot here.

The reason I ask, is that I have a couple of these reels and would like to use them if possible.

Next question: Will a regular dipsy rod (say a med/heavy 9'6" or 10'6") work with wire line or does it need to be rated for wire line?

Third: I read in another post that the new wire won't cut through a rods line guide like the old days. However, I have heard that a twili tip will also help keep wire from "wearing" at the pivot point while trolling. Any sense to this? I would think for the small cost of a twili tip it would be worth adding it just in case. Agree or disagree?

Fourth: I see BigJon sells a heavy duty rod holder for use while running wire line and dipsys. Is this heavy holder necessary or would my existing multi-set Big Jons be okay?

Fifth: Where do you guys buy 1000 foot rolls of wire? All I'm finding is 300 and 600.

And my last question... the one you were waiting for... Will wire wear out the "guides" on a level wind reel? Do you have to do anything special to the reel to keep it from wearing?

I know that's quite a few questions for one post, sorry. I appreciate any help, even if you only have time to answer one of the above. Thanks everyone! :D

Edited by jobsite

I can help you out on some of your questions.

#2. No need for a special wire rod, a normal dipsy rod is fine.