Bird Nest from Hades

OK, This was a really stupid thing to do.

Trolling along in about 12 fow and one of the lures gets hung up on the bottom. I'm obviously not going to stop the boat, so I reach down to the rod without thinking and hit the spool release. ZING goes the spool about hundred miles an hour and continues to free spool peeling line all up inside the reel. The good news is the lure is free of the bottom, the bad news is that the pole is not being used for the rest of the trip as there is just no untangling that mess.

In case you didn't know, I am kind of new to this trout and salmon trolling.

Any ideas or advise on what is the easiest way to fix this nasty mess? Do I just cut off 1000ft of line? It sure seems impossible to untangle. What should I have done in this instance?

My reels are Okuma Magda45's if that makes any difference with this issue.

no doubt your gonna spend a few minutes snipping and cleaning the line off that reel and respooling..... when i get in that situation depending on line weight and whether i want to lose that lure i will either cut the line and keep going or stop the boat loosen the drag on the stuck rod and let it run out that way while i clear the other lines and turn the boataround

todd

Dave

Obviously what you do is don't hit the spool release. What I do is loosen the drag as far as it'll go then turn the boat in a circle & head the other way. 90% of the time the lure will come loose when you about even with it and you can reel it back in. Remember if you free-up a snag, to cut off a bunch of the line as it's probably all stretched out.

Sounds like you have a cutting job to do. Use toe-nail clippers.

Tom B.

(LongLine)

Hey Dave, don't feel bad, last spring I started to let line out on a diver. I flipped into free spool and a solmon hit at the same time, I couldn't reel in or let line out, just hung on till the fish ripped off and I knew better than do that. :(