Color fish finder recommendations

Bad Habit

I've been having trouble with an old Eagle fish finder and am interested on opinions as to what might be the best color fish finder under $500. Do people prefer a dual frequency? I've always had Lowrance and Eagle so I don't know much about what else is out there at that price. Any help or suggestions would be great. Thanks, Rick

I would look I to the Garmin echomap 70s if I were you. I just picked up a unit and even tho I have had no direct experience with it I got lots of positive feedback on it. Typically a unit that sells for around a grande they are marked down to around your $500 range because the newest model is coming out. In my opinion best bang for your buck right now.

Under $500, buy yourself a used HDS5, want to spend $750 to $800 you can get yourself a used HDS7 Touch!

The prices on the HDS Gen 2s has dropped significantly as the Gen 3's have been launched.

So lots of people are basically selling their 1 to 2 year old units for cheap.

Elite 7 HDI with lake insight and sun cover $399.00 cablelas, just got the fishing catalog. Last year I paid $550.00 since then chirp came out $699.00 and now the Elite 9 chirp $1399.00 all within a year, talk about a marketing gimmick!! When I bought mine the Lawrance rep. Said there wouldn't be any major changes anytime soon!!! Yea OK then, kind of like the fish hawk. Best of luck to you.