Question; Pros/Cons of using a trolling plate?

I've never used one before, but now I have Bayliner Trophy 2160 that came with a trolling plate installed. The boat has a 5.0L I/O stern drive. Just wondering if it causes any issues with the motor or outdrive. Could it cause any other performance problems? How well do they really work?

Just looking for pros and cons from anyone with personal experience with trolling plates. Thanks in advance!

I have one installed on my 24' Grady. Gets my speed down to 1.7. Some claim that they have manuverabilty issues but I haven't had that experience. Just need to remember to lift it when done trolling or it can bend depending on type you have.

I had one on my previous boat and never had a problem with handling and it did slow the boat down. The only thing I did was put stiffener braces on the back so it didn't bend. No issues with the outdrive and the boat is still in use. My current boat I have a kicker so no need for the plate.

Edited by Firechief48

Thanks for the replies. Since the boat came with the plate, it gives me another option to use. I'll try it out, but I use buckets in my other boat, so I'll have them as another option as well.

I have heard guys recommend drilling some holes in the plate to prevent excessive exhaust back pressure issues. I don't personally have any experience with them just something I heard.