satelite radio

Starting to think of what my xmas present to myself should be, and got to thinking

about satelite radio for the boat. I have zero experience or knowledge of satelite

radio.

So, does anyone have it on your boat, do you like it, pro's and con's?

Thanks....

John

I don't leave home without it. I have XM in the truck and Sirius in the car. I take the XM unit out of the truck and put it in my boat. I don't know that last time I listened to AM/FM radio. I prefer XM over Sirius and my wife prefers Sirius over XM. Since the merger of the two, I believe you can pay for a subscription to both XM and Sirius at a discounted rate and get all the stations. I suppose the only con is the monthly fee we have to pay.

I have had sat radio for about 5 years. When I first got it it I thought it was the greatest. I listen to music for the most part, sometimes, business, and hockey talk. I have to admit I have been less enthusiastic since the merger of XM and Sirrius as the music programming has not been what it used to for my taste. I think my next move is to pick up a smart phone that I can stream internet radio on and then plug that into a sound system on the boat. I don't know if I can do that but Im looking into it.

I have XM in my truck and love it and can't live without it. The CD player that came with my boat has a hookup but I don't use it, if I had an I/O running all the time with no worry of killing my batteries I would run the radio non stop but instead I listen to rigger hum and my kicker and drags every so often...if you can get away with running a radio all day I say go for it.

Here is my experience with XM radio.

I *had* it since it originally came out back in 01/02 as a family add on since my dad had it as well so it will like 8.00 per month plus if you paid for a 2 year deal they discounted it even more. I was going to cancel it last year but they called me and said you can do a year contract for $50.00, ok so I sign up for another year.