losing downrigger

I have an islander with 3 Cannon stx riggers. They are super fast. When they stop at the top they bounce. To me it bounces a lot. I am curious as to anyone's experience here because I am concerned about possibly losing a downrigger. Maybe I am just paranoid. This is my first year with the set up and I am considering an aluminum or steel railing to mount riggers and rod holders to for extra support. I know more is probably better but I would prefer to forgo the expense. Any advise or ideas would be appreciated.

To remove some of the "bounce" several companies offer ball snubbers. I've used Amish Outfitter snubbers on my Cannons for several years and have been happy with them. As far as mounting riggers on an aluminum boat I'd use backer material and try to tie in to the structure. Track systems spreading the load with plenty of backer make sense to me.

I think Mr. 580 has it right. In any case you want to have the bases themselves stabilized to the maximum degree possible to reduce torque and "flexing" on the gunwales and and usually a stiff backing plate  would go a long way in doing this. Another thing to keep in mind (which most folks don't think about) is setting the "drag" on the downrigger so that if you hang up on bottom your downrigger isn't ripped out along with some of the gunwale. I saw this actually happen to someone during a derby on Seneca years ago (downrigger recovered by a hired diver) and it severely damaged the boat (huge chunk of fiberglass ripped out).

Edited by Sk8man