Enjoying all the reports posted today....here is mine.

Felt like the first great Spring day out there.  Being an Ontario rookie I don't know where colored water typically builds around Pultneyville so went over by Ginna as fish were there earlier this month.  Started in 10-20 fow while the sun was low but all quiet.  Moved out as the sun went higher and the lake went flat.  Finally a good Brown took a UV Naked Jordo Stinger down 25 over 40 fow but then continued quiet.  Kept working a little deeper and found active Lakers in 55 fow so boated 3, all on spoons down 40-45.  I know many of you dis Lake Trout but I had to post a pic of the first Ontario laker to see the bottom of my boat!!  Remember I cut my teeth on Cayuga Lake Trout!

A little chop started up on the water so decided to get skinny again and see if the fish weren't going to stay spooky.  Rewarded with a great double off Bay Rats Cant afford it and glow frog.   My first Ontario steelhead and a really gnarly Brown who fought hard for at least 15 minutes.  Got to say I'm just loving the early season fishing out on Ontario.  Water temps hung between 44 and 45.  I assume when the water warms the fishing techniques will need to change.  If anyone is willing to give me a primer for fishing Ontario in May, I'm all ears!!

0425200557a.jpg

0425200610b.jpg

0425200925a.jpg

• Like 7

Great job! Nice mix of fish! I like Lakers as a fall back plan on a slow day. I also got started on Lakers in keuka and Seneca. So any big fish on Ontario gets me excited. Nothing like a king though! Last year we had good luck on kings in may an June in 80 to 120 fow. How do you like your planer boards I see you got center pole for them in pic. My buddy just dug one from his pole barn I want to put on boat. Looks just like yours.

3 hours ago, reeltrout said: