Downrigger releses

As a pro staff boat for black releases i can honestly say that you will not find a more dependable release on the market today. the life of the release is far greater than any release i have used since 1977. its simple reliable. the tension screws will adjust for almost all species of fish. i have personally used them from small mouth bass,pike,muskey,salmon and trout all the way to tarpon, sailfish and marlin in the ocean

Good luck i hope that helps you out

Chris :D

We changed over to Black's from a pinch pad style 5-6 seasons ago now.

Absolutely LOVE THEM! Great for walleye on Erie or salmon on Ontario!

I have no experience with the chamberlains.

John

Tim complains about the Black's releases every time he is on my boat. His sausage-fingers can't make the twists :lol:

Reasons to like Black's......low drag/profile reduces blow back, you can really crank them tight when fishing deep, no false releases, SIMPLICITY.

I just find them very cumbersome and difficult to use.

The Scottys have all of the supposed advantages of the blacks without any of my personal negatives. You can absolutely load the crap out of the rods with NO false releases; IMO, they are much easier to get the line into; there is certainly no added drag from them; and much easier to see shakers on the line.

In a head to head comparison, the blacks come in a weak and distant second place IMO.

Seriously, if blacks were the only releases available, I'd invent something else so I wouldn't have to use them.

Tim

I have never ran a Blacks on my boat but have used them on others. I have no opinion on them.

I have ran Chamberlains and like them for certain applications. I will not use them for running paddles or other heavy applications. What I don't like about them is that the strike-side tension is maxed out at 4.5 pounds.