Please identify this fish!

DEFIANCE1

Took the boat out for about an hour out of Fairhaven just to kind of see what was happening out in the lake. This was the only thing that I caught. Caught this in about 80fow on 300 copper with a DW SS. Defiantly hit the spoon, all three trebles were in his mouth. Fish was about 21-23 inches long. What is this?

fMSaS.jpg

fMUG0.jpg

fMXa9.jpg

fMZFi.jpg

It could be a Lake Whitefish. I'm no expert but I don't know if Cisco can grow to 23". We used to catch Cisco's through the ice on occasion in Michigan and they were smaller.

I can't tell from the picture but the Lake Whitefish have a funky "snout" looking thing hanging over the lower jaw near the side of the mouth. If I'm not mistaken the Native Americans on Lake Michigan near Manistee net these suckers......

Cool catch!!!!

- Chris

Whenever you have questions concerning Id’ing a fish check this site out:

http://www.wiscfish.org/fishid/frames.aspx

Cisco

cisco.jpg

Whitefish

whitefish.jpg

I’d vote whitefish as the ciscoes are quite rare and only get up to 21â€. Whitefish get bigger. On a side note DEC is studying the how's/what's to reintroduce the cisco to Lake Ontario.

Tom B.

(LongLine)

I agree with Gambler,as it being a Cisco.We caught loads of them in lake Champlain,Identical to the one in the picture.Almost everyone we caught came on spoons being trolled for Atlantics.

I was told by locals that ciscoes are very good eating when smoked

I agree with Gambler,as it being a Cisco.We caught loads of them in lake Champlain,Identical to the one in the picture.Almost everyone we caught came on spoons being trolled for Atlantics.

I was told by locals that ciscoes are very good eating when smoked

Yup, cisco are also known as bloater chub, so when you see "smoked chubs" in the fish market, those are ciscos. and they are yummy :inlove: